Western Astrology and Vedic Astrology

There are many differences between Western Astrology and Vedic Astrology. Here are a few:

1. The Zodiac. Vedic astrology uses what is called the Sidereal Zodiac. Western astrology uses what's called the tropical zodiac. It is called the tropical zodiac because the first degree of the zodiac starts with the first day of spring. For the first day of Aries is the first day of spring. This does not correspond to the stars in the sky. The first day of spring actually corresponds to the stars of Pisces due to what's called the "Equinoctial precession". Due to a slight variation in the Earth's for a rotation a slight tilt changes our vantage point a relative to the distant stars a buy one degree approximately every 70 years. Since Western astrologers started using this system of astrology, that point has drifted to a full 23°. So the Western zodiac does not correspond with the stars in the sky. This is not matter because Western astrology does not use the stars in reading a Chart.

2. Vedic astrology uses the distant stars in the chart. These magnificent bodies of light a refer to our transcendent, cosmic nature rather than our earthbound one. This also refers to a the major difference between a Vedic and Western astrology, the concept of reincarnation or the souls journey through infinite lifetimes, every evolving toward perfection and God realization. This deeper evolving consciousness is more reflected in the stars as they also a refer to the ancient Vedic gods whose energy resides in their portion of Sky. Stars are these relatives of our Sun, our mighty and miraculous Star that is responsible for all life on this Earth and in the solar system. Along with a the major visible planets in our solar system, Vedic astrology uses 27 distinct stellar archetypes - called Nakshatras, these are the stars that refer to our transcendent Self.

3. Vedic astrology uses dasa periods. The dasa periods show specifically which karma's will be unfolding at which time and life. They are incredibly accurate in predicting not only what will happen in the persons life but how they will be feeling while it's happening. Major cycles of up to 20 years are also broken down into sub periods as short as one day. Advising clients do a becomes easy, especially when you are able to see when major planetary shifts are going to occur.

4. Vedic Astrology does not use outer Planets of Uranus, Neptune and Pluto or asteroids. The dynamics of Vedic thinking are based on planetary archetypes and their energies. Given that the outer planets are not visible as bodies of light their influences are more psychological and internal. There are many a vedic astrologers who use them in chart 
interpretations as well, but just as many classical Western astrologers are leery of making concrete results based on outer planets, so are a Vedic astrologers. It is the planets of visible light that give our karma's through the mental impressions (samsaras) created, as planetary transits intersect with our inner environment as shown through the birth chart. The agency of this dynamic are the Chakras. The external planets and their energies are what energizes our inner environment through the Chakras, giving rise to the mental impressions that compel us to act through form and thus experience our karma.

5. Vedic Astrology uses the fully developed qualities of the Nodes. The nodes are the eclipse points as such they are not bodies of light as the other planets, rather they are the subconscious forces of worldly desire and other worldly desire - attachment and detachment - the inner child and the disapproving parent within. Rahu (the North node) shows our strong worldly attachments and the things we are developing in this lifetime. In order to develop those things we may become obsessed over them, hypnotized by experience and worldly desire, eventually to learn detachment through exhausting the worldly forms of what he associates with. Ketu exists at the opposite and of the spectrum, disinterested in worldly experience, wanting to hide, unsatisfied and critical - disappointed in all he sees. As Ketu is divine discontent. No matter how much sex, drugs and rock-and-roll we have, there's always more and part of us can sense the futility in even trying to satisfy our worldly desires. This is Ketu. As Rahu obsesses a Ketu doubts, the push and pull of rahu and Ketu is how we evolve and develop.

6. Vedic Astrology uses many harmonic charts as part of the reading. These harmonic charts focus on specific areas of life. When looking into relationship karma, the 9th divisional chart is used, career karma the 10th chart. These harmonic charts give an
incredible level of accuracy to the reading. Also a rectifying the birth Time becomes quite easy once you learn how to read these harmonic charts.

7. The origin of the two systems is Indian, not Western. It would make no sense that the thousands of techniques of Vedic astrology would have somehow appear to after the Aryan invasion as a used to be the belief. In fact, we can clearly see when Westerners started using Indian astrology based on the precession, at this point it was roughly a couple thousand years ago. The theory used to be that when Alexander the Great conquered India and Persia, knowledge from the West flowed into that area. This is called the Aryan invasion theory. However there is no record of astrology in Greece before Ptolemy for instance, there were no elaborate occult systems in place before these invasions. All of the details of planets, signs, houses as well as a infinite and myriad techniques of Vedic astrology existed long before India was plundered. Even just a cursory examination of Indian astrology reveals this fact. After the invasion as Westerners began using astrology there was more sharing. However much was also excluded in the West. Most of the subtlety and complexity was left out.
8. Vedic Astrology is part of a larger holistic healing system. Vedic Astrology uses the same healing remedies as Ayurveda (the medical system of India), yoga, and is connected from the same energetic factors to each of these important holistic systems. Mantras, gems, herbs, yoga postures are all prescribed by the Vedic astrologer based on your karma. The same archetypes underpin these sciences and provide a coherent path to wellness. Astrology also shares a common reference to the spirituality of India and Hinduism - so those who are uplifted by yogic principles, meditation and deities such as lords Shiva or Krishna will find a home in Vedic interpretations. It is for this reason that Vedic astrology is very revered in India, as medical doctors are also astrologers or consult with them regularly. Priests, doctors, commoners all know that astrology is very useful and helpful, posting your mundane, everyday life and long-term spiritual life. Of course this is not the case in the West. If you're medical doctor or priest or psychologists knew you were consulting an astrologer for life decisions, they would probably be unimpressed. Thus in the West there is no healing paradigm integral to the practice. This is not to say Western astrologers cannot offer healing to their clients. But holistic healing comes from the outside through forms such as Reiki, or Yoga or other outside, non native means. Many Western astrologers offer no remedies, something unthinkable in Vedic astrology. Or they offer mantras visualizations
meditation, same as the Vedic astrologer, but without the rounding in understanding that comes from having studied its holistic implications as a Vedic science.
These are a few of the main differences between Western astrology and Vedic astrology.


Vedic Astrology
What Is Vedic Astrology?
Western Astrology and Vedic Astrology
Vedic Astrology Chart